As part of our ongoing maintenance of the Branded Web Templates (BWT) platform, we will be updating the Revision History retention settings in Sitefinity CMS on Thursday, August 20.
Revision History is a built-in Sitefinity CMS feature that automatically saves versions of your content each time it is edited, allowing you to view, compare, and, if needed, restore previous versions of pages and content items. While this is a valuable capability, it is a feature many content publishers are not actively using. Sitefinity CMS automatically saves a version of a content item – Page, Content Types – each time it is edited, enabling you to review or restore previous versions when needed.
Additional information, including instructions for using Revision History, is available in this knowledgebase article:
https://bwt.ada.org/s/article/revision-history
Beginning on Thursday, August 20, the Revision History retention settings will be updated to match the configuration used on our previous platform. Specifically, Sitefinity CMS will retain:
- Draft and published versions created within the past 6 months
- A minimum of the 10 most recent published versions
Currently, there is no limit on the amount of revision history that is retained.
As part of this change, any revision history that falls outside of the new retention settings will be automatically deleted and will not be available in the Recycle Bin. This will affect only older historical versions of content and will not impact your currently published content or drafts. For the vast majority of content publishers, this change is not expected to have any noticeable impact. These retention settings are a standard Sitefinity CMS capability designed to balance version history with efficient database management.