How do I lock a document or file on my site?
Locking can be done on the page level as well as on the document and file level and are separate settings. As a result, a page can be locked as well as documents and files linked on it, a page can be locked and its documents and files linked on it can be unlocked, or a page can be unlocked and its documents and files linked on it can be locked.
To lock an item in Documents and Files, do the following:
- Go to Documents and Files and navigate to the file you wish to lock
- Either drop down the Actions menu and select Edit Properties or click on the file name to bring up the Edit Properties form
- Scroll to bottom of the form and check the appropriate checkbox for how you want to apply access rights. For our example, we will select “Member List 1” and leave members only unchecked. Note: If a contact needs access to locked content on a site and is an affiliate member—meaning they belong to a different state or local organization—they must be added to the appropriate permission list.
- Click Publish to save the settings
The document or file will now have a locked symbol displayed to the left of its name. Note when adding a link to a locked document with the Document Manager in a Content Block, the lock symbol will not display until you save and publish the Content Block.
#lists